Brazilian Passport Photo (captured at the Polícia Federal counter): size and requirements
The Brazilian Passport Photo size is 35 x 45 mm (1.38 x 1.77 inches). Not stated; the Polícia Federal photographs you against its own backdrop. Light grey is our rendering choice for the reference frame only.; head 70 to 80 percent of the photo height. Last verified 2026-10-08 against Polícia Federal (Ministério da Justiça e Segurança Pública), 'Obter passaporte' service page on gov.br, with ICAO Doc 9303.
For the Brazilian passaporte comum, whose facial image the Polícia Federal captures together with the fingerprints when you attend your appointment, so no photograph is handed in or uploaded. Not for a Brazilian visa lodged at a consulate or the e-Visa, whose photo rules we could not read, and not for a passport issued abroad by a consulate.
The Polícia Federal takes your facial image at the passport appointment. See all Brazil documents.

Requirements at a glance
- Size
- 35 x 45 mm (1.38 x 1.77 inches)
- Head height
- Head 70 to 80 percent of the photo height (No applicant photo applies (the PF collects 'fotografia facial' at the counter); ICAO Doc 9303: crown-to-chin 70 to 80 per cent of the image height)
- Background
- not stated; the Polícia Federal photographs you against its own backdrop. Light grey is our rendering choice for the reference frame only.
- Expression
- Neutral, mouth closed, eyes open, looking at the camera
- Glasses
- Only if you must; no tint, no glare
- Head covering
- Only for religious or medical reasons; full face visible
- We deliver
- 413 x 531 px (300 DPI), plus a 4 x 6 inch print sheet
What trips people up
- CheckYou bring no photo. Step 4 of the service: the officer 'coletará dados biométricos — impressões digitais e fotografia facial — e informará o prazo de entrega, em geral, entre 6 e 10 dias úteis.' Any file or print you buy is wasted.
- CheckEveryone attends in person, children included: 'O atendimento presencial é obrigatório a todo solicitante de passaporte, inclusive no caso do solicitante menor de 18 anos.'
- CheckThe saved page lists no photograph among the step-4 requirements. Step 1 says 'confira atentamente quais documentos deverão ser apresentados no dia do atendimento', but the linked document lists (links/documentacao-necessaria, links/lista-geral) were not read, so their contents are unverified.
- CheckThe service is for people in Brazil only ('Este serviço se dedica exclusivamente a quem se encontra em território brasileiro'); Brazilians abroad use the consular 'Obter passaporte brasileiro no exterior' service, which we have not read.
- CheckOrder of steps: fill in the form online, pay the R$ 257,25 fee, book the appointment, attend, track, collect at the same post within 90 days.
Source and verification
No national rule published; ICAO 9303 standard applies. Last checked 2026-10-08 (archived copy dated 2024-09-12) at Polícia Federal (Ministério da Justiça e Segurança Pública), 'Obter passaporte' service page on gov.br, with ICAO Doc 9303.
O atendente analisará a documentação e as informações que você forneceu ao preencher o formulário, coletará dados biométricos — impressões digitais e fotografia facial — e informará o prazo de entrega, em geral, entre 6 e 10 dias úteis.
O atendimento presencial é obrigatório a todo solicitante de passaporte, inclusive no caso do solicitante menor de 18 anos.
confira atentamente quais documentos deverão ser apresentados no dia do atendimento
Este serviço se dedica exclusivamente a quem se encontra em território brasileiro
Última Modificação: 07/10/2026
The crown-to-chin portion of the facial image shall be 70 to 80 per cent of the longest dimension defined for Zone V, maintaining the aspect ratio between the crown-to-chin and ear-to-ear details of the face of the holder.
Quotes 1-5 are from the gov.br 'Obter passaporte' page at source.url (sources/br/pf-obter-passaporte.txt, read via the r.jina.ai text proxy with x-target-selector #main-content because www.gov.br refuses direct connections from this network and the proxy otherwise returns only the cookie modal). Quote 1 is step 4 'Comparecer à unidade escolhida', quote 2 its 'Presencial' channel note, quote 3 from step 1 (the page renders 'documentos' as a link), quote 4 from 'Quem pode utilizar este serviço?'. Translation (ours): the officer checks the documents and form data, collects biometrics - fingerprints and facial photograph - and states the delivery time; in-person attendance is mandatory for every applicant including minors. Quote 6 is ICAO Doc 9303 Part 3 (sources/icao/, Wayback 2024-09-12) and supplies the reference head band because the PF publishes no geometry for an image it captures itself; archiveSnapshot 2024-09-12 is the Wayback date of that ICAO excerpt, not of a capture of source.url, which was read live via the text proxy (Wayback holds none). The page does not say in words 'do not bring a photo'; the 'no' verdict rests on the biometric-capture sentence and on the absence of a photograph from the saved page's text (inference, flagged). The page's own document lists (links/documentacao-necessaria, links/lista-geral) are links that were not followed; the saved page shows only the link text, so no claim is made about their contents. physical 35 x 45 mm / 300 dpi, background 'light-grey', glasses 'discouraged' and headCovering are ICAO-style defaults and rendering choices. maxPhotoAgeMonths, printsRequired and child left undefined (nothing is handed in). editing 'unaltered-required' is a conservative default for a document whose photo we cannot supply.
We are an independent service, not a government website. Applying for a passport or visa is done with your government; we only prepare the photo.