Independent service, not a government website.

Colombian Passport Photo (photo taken at the passport office; no photo to bring): size and requirements

The Colombian Passport Photo size is 35 x 45 mm (1.38 x 1.77 inches). Not stated; the passport office photographs you against its own backdrop. Light grey is our rendering choice for the reference frame only.; head 70 to 80 percent of the photo height. Last verified 2026-10-09 against Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores de Colombia (Cancillería), Pasaportes 'Requisitos' and 'Información General', with ICAO Doc 9303.

For the Colombian ordinary or executive electronic passport issued by the Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores at its Bogotá offices, the Gobernaciones or consulates, including first passports for minors and the online renewal (Pasaporte en Línea). The office photographs every applicant; no photo is brought or uploaded. Not for a Colombian visa or the cédula de ciudadanía.

The Cancillería takes your photo, fingerprints and signature at the passport appointment. See the Colombia documents we can prepare.

Sunlit airport terminal with travellers and long shadows
VerifiedNo national rule published; ICAO 9303 standard appliesLast checked 2026-10-09Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores de Colombia (Cancillería), Pasaportes 'Requisitos' and 'Información General', with ICAO Doc 9303

Requirements at a glance

Size
35 x 45 mm (1.38 x 1.77 inches)
Head height
Head 70 to 80 percent of the photo height (No applicant photo applies ('No es necesario llevar fotos'); ICAO Doc 9303: crown-to-chin 70 to 80 per cent of the image height)
Background
not stated; the passport office photographs you against its own backdrop. Light grey is our rendering choice for the reference frame only.
Expression
Neutral, mouth closed, eyes open, looking at the camera
Glasses
Only if you must; no tint, no glare
Head covering
Only for religious or medical reasons; full face visible
We deliver
413 x 531 px (300 DPI), plus a 4 x 6 inch print sheet

What trips people up

  • Check
    Do not bring photos: the requirements page says you attend 'para el trámite, la toma de la fotografía, el registro de huellas y la firma. No es necesario llevar fotos.' The same sentence is repeated for minors.
  • Check
    The online renewal has no upload either: Pasaporte en Línea is only for adults with an electronic passport issued after 17 November 2017 who had 'una autenticación biométrica exitosa en el proceso de expedición del pasaporte anterior vigente'; the new booklet reuses that capture and is collected in person.
  • Check
    Appointments are booked on agendacitas.cancilleria.gov.co with the applicant's or the accompanying adult's cédula (document type 'CC').
  • Check
    Minors attend with a parent or legal representative, who must show a valid cédula; an absent parent may authorise a third party in writing.
  • Check
    Check the data page on delivery: a misprint must be reported within one month for a free replacement; later changes mean buying a new passport.

Source and verification

VerifiedLast checked 2026-10-09Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores de Colombia (Cancillería), Pasaportes 'Requisitos' and 'Información General', with ICAO Doc 9303

No national rule published; ICAO 9303 standard applies. Last checked 2026-10-09 (archived copy dated 2024-09-12) at Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores de Colombia (Cancillería), Pasaportes 'Requisitos' and 'Información General', with ICAO Doc 9303.

  • Recuerde que debe acercarse personalmente en la oficina que selecciono y presentar los/mayores-edad documentos requeridos para el trámite, la toma de la fotografía, el registro de huellas y la firma. No es necesario llevar fotos.
  • Haber tenido una autenticación biométrica exitosa en el proceso de expedición del pasaporte anterior vigente.
  • Ser mayor de edad, y titular de pasaporte ordinario electrónico o ejecutivo electrónico, expedido después del 17 de noviembre de 2017.
  • The crown-to-chin portion of the facial image shall be 70 to 80 per cent of the longest dimension defined for Zone V, maintaining the aspect ratio between the crown-to-chin and ear-to-ear details of the face of the holder.

Quotes 1-3 are from the Requisitos page at source.url (sources/co/cancilleria-pasaportes-requisitos.txt, read via r.jina.ai on 2026-10-09; quote 1 keeps the page's own typo 'los/mayores-edad' and unaccented 'selecciono'). Translation (ours): remember you must come in person to the office you selected and present the required documents for the procedure, the taking of the photograph, fingerprint registration and signature; it is not necessary to bring photos; having had a successful biometric authentication when the previous valid passport was issued; being an adult holding an electronic ordinary or executive passport issued after 17 November 2017. eligibility.officialWording is the tail of quote 1. Quote 4 is ICAO Doc 9303 Part 3 (sources/icao/, Wayback 2024-09-12) and supplies the reference head band; archiveSnapshot is that excerpt's date, source.url was read live. physical 35 x 45 mm / 300 dpi, light-grey background, glasses 'discouraged' and headCovering are ICAO-style defaults for the reference frame. printsRequired, maxPhotoAgeMonths and child undefined. editing 'unaltered-required' is the conservative default for a document whose photo we cannot supply.

We are an independent service, not a government website. Applying for a passport or visa is done with your government; we only prepare the photo.

Frequently asked questions

Woman taking a selfie with her phone in front of a bright outdoor wall
A plain wall and daylight are enough.