Egyptian Passport Photo (ICAO 35 x 45 mm reference; no national rule found): size and requirements
The Egyptian Passport Photo size is 35 x 45 mm (1.38 x 1.77 inches). Not stated by any readable Egyptian source; white is our rendering choice; head 70 to 80 percent of the photo height. Photo taken within the last 6 months. Last verified 2026-10-09 against Passports, Emigration & Nationality Administration (مصلحة الجوازات والهجرة والجنسية), Egyptian Ministry of Interior, 'إستخراج جواز سفر' page, with ICAO Doc 9303.
For the Egyptian machine-readable passport (جواز سفر مميكن) issued by the Passports, Emigration & Nationality Administration of the Ministry of Interior inside Egypt, or by Egyptian consulates abroad, applied for on paper form 29. The authority publishes no readable photo rule, so this spec is the ICAO Doc 9303 reference frame only. Not for the Egyptian e-Visa, which needs no photo, and not for the national ID card.
Check with your PENA office or consulate before buying: we could not read Egypt's photo rule, so treat our 35 x 45 mm ICAO print as a best guess, not an official format. See all Egypt documents.
Requirements at a glance
- Size
- 35 x 45 mm (1.38 x 1.77 inches)
- Head height
- Head 70 to 80 percent of the photo height (No national rule found; ICAO Doc 9303: submitted portraits should be 45.0 mm x 35.0 mm, crown-to-chin 70 to 80 per cent of the image height)
- Background
- not stated by any readable Egyptian source; white is our rendering choice
- Expression
- Neutral, mouth closed, eyes open, looking at the camera
- Glasses
- Allowed without glare or tint
- Head covering
- Only for religious or medical reasons; full face visible
- Photo age
- Taken within the last 6 months
- We deliver
- 413 x 531 px (300 DPI), plus a 4 x 6 inch print sheet
What trips people up
- CheckNo national rule was found. The PENA pages on moi.gov.eg reject automated readers and their Wayback copies show only the first tab or an 'MOI Rejected Page'; mfa.gov.eg does not resolve. Everything in this spec except the procedure quotes is the ICAO Doc 9303 reference frame (35 x 45 mm, head 70 to 80 per cent, taken within six months), flagged as such.
- CheckAsk the passport office or consulate for its photo count and size before you print: Egyptian offices and consulates are known to state their own counts and sizes on their forms, and we could not read them.
- CheckInside Egypt the application is on paper: 'يتم الحصول علي نموذج (29) جوازات مميكن مجانا من الإدارة العامة أو أحد فروعها الجغرافية.' (form 29 is obtained free from PENA or a branch) and the first page is filled in by the applicant.
- CheckEgyptians abroad apply at consulates: the PENA page says citizens outside the country submit passport issue and renewal applications to the Egyptian consulates abroad; each consulate publishes its own list.
- CheckThe passport is personal and cannot carry a spouse or children: 'ولا يجوز إضافة الزوجة أو الأبناء عليه' - every child needs an own passport and own photo.
- CheckThe e-Visa (visa2egypt.gov.eg) is not covered here because its FAQ and 'How to apply' steps ask for no photograph.
Source and verification
No national rule published; ICAO 9303 standard applies. Last checked 2026-10-09 (archived copy dated 2026-02-27) at Passports, Emigration & Nationality Administration (مصلحة الجوازات والهجرة والجنسية), Egyptian Ministry of Interior, 'إستخراج جواز سفر' page, with ICAO Doc 9303.
يتم الحصول علي نموذج (29) جوازات مميكن مجانا من الإدارة العامة أو أحد فروعها الجغرافية.
ولا يجوز إضافة الزوجة أو الأبناء عليه
Submitted portraits should be 45.0 mm x 35.0 mm (1.77 in x 1.38 in) in dimension.
The crown-to-chin portion of the facial image shall be 70 to 80 per cent of the longest dimension defined for Zone V, maintaining the aspect ratio between the crown-to-chin and ear-to-ear details of the face of the holder.
A submitted portrait shall have been captured within the last six months before application, as outlined in [ISO/IEC 39794-5].
Quotes 1-2 are from the Arabic PENA page 'إستخراج جواز سفر' at source.url, read on 2026-10-09 from the Wayback Machine capture of 2026-02-27 (web.archive.org/web/20260227093109id_/, sources/eg/moi-passports-getpassport-1-wayback.txt) because moi.gov.eg answers 'Access Rejected' to direct and proxied requests; archiveSnapshot is that capture date. Translation (ours): form 29 for the machine-readable passport is obtained free of charge from the General Administration or one of its branches; a spouse or children may not be added to the passport. The page's second tab 'المستندات اللازمة' (required documents) is loaded by script and is absent from every Wayback copy; the English PENA pages return an 'MOI Rejected Page' placeholder even in Wayback (2025-04-24, 2026-03-15), mfa.gov.eg does not resolve, egypt.gov.eg refuses connections and digital.gov.eg shows no passport service in readable text. Quotes 3-5 are ICAO Doc 9303 Part 3 (sources/icao/, Wayback 2024-09-12) and supply every geometry value: 35 x 45 mm, head 70-80 %, six months. background 'white', dpi 300, glasses and headCovering are rendering defaults. Eligibility 'restricted' records that we could not establish whether offices photograph applicants or accept prints; the quoted sentence is the only procedural wording available and does not itself address photos. printsRequired and child left undefined (nothing published). eg/e-visa NOT authored: sources/eg/visa2egypt-faq.txt and visa2egypt-how-do-i-apply.txt list no photograph.
We are an independent service, not a government website. Applying for a passport or visa is done with your government; we only prepare the photo.