Independent service, not a government website.

Kenyan Passport Photo (ePassport; photo captured at the Passport Processing Centre): size and requirements

The Kenyan Passport Photo size is 35 x 45 mm (1.38 x 1.77 inches). Not stated; the Passport Processing Centre photographs you against its own backdrop. Light grey is our rendering choice for the reference frame only.; head 70 to 80 percent of the photo height. Last verified 2026-10-09 against Directorate of Immigration Services, State Department for Immigration and Citizen Services (Kenya), 'Passports' page and FAQs, with ICAO Doc 9303.

For the Kenyan ePassport issued by the Directorate of Immigration Services to citizens who apply and pay on eCitizen and then attend a Passport Processing Centre (Nairobi Nyayo House, Kisumu, Mombasa, Eldoret, Nakuru, Embu, Kisii, Kericho, Bungoma) where the photo and biometrics are captured. Not for the eTA (see ke/eta), the Alien Card (ke/alien-card) or the Maisha national ID.

The Directorate captures your photo and biometrics at the ePassport appointment. See the Kenya documents we can prepare.

Sunlit airport terminal with travellers and long shadows
VerifiedNo national rule published; ICAO 9303 standard appliesLast checked 2026-10-09Directorate of Immigration Services, State Department for Immigration and Citizen Services (Kenya), 'Passports' page and FAQs, with ICAO Doc 9303

Requirements at a glance

Size
35 x 45 mm (1.38 x 1.77 inches)
Head height
Head 70 to 80 percent of the photo height (No applicant photo applies (the centre performs 'Photo Capture / Biometric'); ICAO Doc 9303: crown-to-chin 70 to 80 per cent of the image height)
Background
not stated; the Passport Processing Centre photographs you against its own backdrop. Light grey is our rendering choice for the reference frame only.
Expression
Neutral, mouth closed, eyes open, looking at the camera
Glasses
Only if you must; no tint, no glare
Head covering
Only for religious or medical reasons; full face visible
We deliver
413 x 531 px (300 DPI), plus a 4 x 6 inch print sheet

What trips people up

  • Check
    You are photographed at the centre: applicants 'select any of the following Passport Processing Centres to submit Passport Applications and enrol biometrics (Photo Capture / Biometric)'. The DIS Passports page lists no photograph to bring or upload.
  • Check
    Apply online first: 'Passport applicants apply online and pay requisite fees through the eCitizen portal https://dis.ecitizen.go.ke/' and book an appointment there; the eCitizen form behind the login was not read, so we cannot say whether it also asks for an upload.
  • Check
    Children attend for biometrics with a parent: 'it's the duty of the biological parent to apply and present the child for biometrics unless one has legal guardianship from the courts.'
  • Check
    Bring the originals even though you uploaded documents: 'Why do I need to come with documents yet I already uploaded everything on the system?' - 'A passport is a security document and therefore for multiple storage of record.'
  • Check
    Collection is where you enrolled: 'A passport is collected from the passport centre where one did their biometrics', normally 14 days after biometrics per the service charter.
  • Check
    Kenyans abroad go to a mission: 'The Kenyan Diaspora in need passport services may contact the nearest Kenya High Commissions/Embassies for appointments and further assistance.'

Source and verification

VerifiedLast checked 2026-10-09Directorate of Immigration Services, State Department for Immigration and Citizen Services (Kenya), 'Passports' page and FAQs, with ICAO Doc 9303

No national rule published; ICAO 9303 standard applies. Last checked 2026-10-09 (archived copy dated 2024-09-12) at Directorate of Immigration Services, State Department for Immigration and Citizen Services (Kenya), 'Passports' page and FAQs, with ICAO Doc 9303.

  • Upon completing the application process and paying applicable fees, applicants are required to book appointment, through the eCitizen portal, and select any of the following Passport Processing Centres to submit Passport Applications and enrol biometrics (Photo Capture / Biometric);
  • Passport applicants apply online and pay requisite fees through the eCitizen portal
  • A passport is collected from the passport centre where one did their biometrics
  • A passport is a security document and therefore for multiple storage of record.
  • The crown-to-chin portion of the facial image shall be 70 to 80 per cent of the longest dimension defined for Zone V, maintaining the aspect ratio between the crown-to-chin and ear-to-ear details of the face of the holder.

Quotes 1-2 are from the DIS 'Passports' page at source.url (sources/ke/dis-passport-section.txt, read via r.jina.ai on 2026-10-09; the page renders the eCitizen URL as a bold link after quote 2). Quotes 3-4 are from the DIS FAQs (sources/ke/dis-faqs.txt). eligibility.officialWording is the second half of quote 1. Quote 5 is ICAO Doc 9303 Part 3 (sources/icao/, Wayback 2024-09-12) and supplies the reference head band; archiveSnapshot is that excerpt's date, not source.url's. The 'no' verdict rests on 'Photo Capture / Biometric' at the centre and on the absence of any photograph from the Passports page; the eCitizen application form behind the login was not read (inference, flagged). physical 35 x 45 mm / 300 dpi, light-grey background, glasses 'discouraged' and headCovering are ICAO-style defaults for the reference frame. maxPhotoAgeMonths, printsRequired and child undefined. editing 'unaltered-required' is the conservative default for a document whose photo we cannot supply.

We are an independent service, not a government website. Applying for a passport or visa is done with your government; we only prepare the photo.

Frequently asked questions

Woman taking a selfie with her phone in front of a bright outdoor wall
A plain wall and daylight are enough.