Sri Lankan Passport Photo (digital photo only, taken at an Authorized Photo Studio): size and requirements
The Sri Lankan Passport Photo size is 35 x 45 mm (1.38 x 1.77 inches). Not stated; the authorised studio photographs you to the Department's standard. Light grey is our rendering choice for the reference frame only.; head 70 to 80 percent of the photo height. Photo taken within the last 6 months. Last verified 2026-10-09 against Department of Immigration & Emigration (Sri Lanka), 'General Information on Passports' and 'Authorized Photo Studios', with ICAO Doc 9303.
For the Sri Lankan passport (N series ordinary passport, normal or one-day service) applied for at the Department of Immigration & Emigration in Battaramulla or its Regional Offices with form K 35 A. The photo is taken at a Department-authorised studio and sent to the Department electronically; printed photos are refused. Not for applications at Sri Lankan missions abroad, the ETA or the National Identity Card.
Visit an Authorized Photo Studio, which takes the photo, uploads it to the Department and gives you the acknowledgement note. See all Sri Lanka documents.
Requirements at a glance
- Size
- 35 x 45 mm (1.38 x 1.77 inches)
- Head height
- Head 70 to 80 percent of the photo height (No applicant photo applies (an Authorized Photo Studio takes and uploads it); ICAO Doc 9303: crown-to-chin 70 to 80 per cent of the image height)
- Background
- not stated; the authorised studio photographs you to the Department's standard. Light grey is our rendering choice for the reference frame only.
- Expression
- Neutral, mouth closed, eyes open, looking at the camera
- Glasses
- Only if you must; no tint, no glare
- Head covering
- Only for religious or medical reasons; full face visible
- Photo age
- Taken within the last 6 months
- We deliver
- 413 x 531 px (300 DPI), plus a 4 x 6 inch print sheet
What trips people up
- CheckPrinted photos are refused: 'The Department will not accept printed photographs. All applicants should obtain their photographs only from studios authorized by the Department located island-wide or from studios established at the Head Office and Regional Offices of the Department.'
- CheckThe studio uploads for you: 'Studio will send your photograph online to our computer system and will issue a Studio Acknowledgement Note to you. No printed photographs are required for passport application.' Bring the note with form K 35 A.
- CheckSix-month limit on the studio photo: 'Only the photos which were taken within 6 months will be valid.'
- CheckChildren too: 'All passport applicants including children should provide digital photograph through Authorized photo studio', and children under 16 get their own passport.
- CheckFingerprints are separate: applicants aged 16 to 60 give fingerprints at Head Office or a Regional Office, so you attend in person after the studio.
- CheckAbroad the rule differs: 'Applicants submitting passport applications through Sri Lanka Diplomatic Missions overseas could do so without providing fingerprints and digital photograph.' Each mission publishes its own photo instructions, which we have not read.
Source and verification
No national rule published; ICAO 9303 standard applies. Last checked 2026-10-09 (archived copy dated 2024-09-12) at Department of Immigration & Emigration (Sri Lanka), 'General Information on Passports' and 'Authorized Photo Studios', with ICAO Doc 9303.
The Department will not accept printed photographs. All applicants should obtain their photographs only from studios authorized by the Department located island-wide or from studios established at the Head Office and Regional Offices of the Department.
Studio will send your photograph online to our computer system and will issue a Studio Acknowledgement Note to you. No printed photographs are required for passport application.
Only the photos which were taken within 6 months will be valid.
Applicants submitting passport applications through Sri Lanka Diplomatic Missions overseas could do so without providing fingerprints and digital photograph.
The crown-to-chin portion of the facial image shall be 70 to 80 per cent of the longest dimension defined for Zone V, maintaining the aspect ratio between the crown-to-chin and ear-to-ear details of the face of the holder.
Quotes 1-4 are from 'General Information on Passports' at source.url (sources/lk/immigration-passport-general-information.txt, read via r.jina.ai on 2026-10-09; quote 3 follows 'obtain a digital photograph.' with no space on the page, and 'Authorized photo studio' is a link there). eligibility.officialWording is quote 1. Quote 5 is ICAO Doc 9303 Part 3 (sources/icao/, Wayback 2024-09-12) and supplies the reference head band; archiveSnapshot is that excerpt's date, source.url was read live. maxPhotoAgeMonths 6 from quote 3 applies to the studio's capture, not to a photo you supply. physical 35 x 45 mm / 300 dpi, light-grey background, glasses 'discouraged' and headCovering are ICAO-style defaults for the reference frame; the Department publishes the studio standard to studios, not to applicants (sources/lk/immigration-photo-studios-notice.txt is a registration notice without geometry). printsRequired and child undefined. editing 'unaltered-required' is the conservative default for a document whose photo we cannot supply.
We are an independent service, not a government website. Applying for a passport or visa is done with your government; we only prepare the photo.